Proverbs 31 Project

Proverbs 31 Project

For our first lesson, we are going to navigate through the ‘Proverbs 31 Project’ challenge. If you would like to read and follow along, be my guest but just know I will do my best to keep you all posted day by day.  https://www.amazon.com/Proverbs-31-Project-Melissa-Calloway-ebook/dp/B00DRGTLKY#nav-subnav

In the intro the writer explains her plight and how she began her journey through Proverbs. Battling with depression, she questioned God and asked for a sign. The sign came in a very strong way in the body of abnormal test results.

Needless to say, she started on this journey and here we are. The author broke down Proverbs 31:10-31 into twelve parts in order to study a section a month. Through the course of this exercise, we are expected to see an increase in overall drive to be happy and contentment with life.

Chapter 1 breakdown

“Who can find a virtuous and capable wife? She is more precious than rubies. Her husband can trust her, and she will greatly enrich his life. She brings him good, not harm, all the days of his life.” – Proverbs 31:10-12

This section is speaking about self confidence according to the reading. When I first read it and thought myself unworthy, I was being too critical. Upon further review, I realized the text isn’t speaking only for married women or women in relationships, it was quite a bit deeper. As a woman who has suffered from depression most of my life, this hit home for me because of self esteem issues. The reason I questioned everything I read in Proverbs was because I wanted to compare what the bible said with how I view myself. In so many words, it wasn’t adding up.

The very first challenge is to write compliments to yourself. You will need a notebook, phone, computer, journal, or anything that won’t be thrown away easily. Every day, all month long, write down (10) things you like about yourself. The goal is not to lean into materialist things as much as focusing on the physical, emotional, and personal attributes you admire about yourself. (Personality, Abilities, Gifts, Talents, Promises from God)

By the end of the month, you should have 300 compliments. Now because we started a bit early, we may need to play catch up by the end of the challenge. Just to give you all an example, I will list my first (5).

  1. I like my eye color
  2. I love my hair
  3. I love my skin tone
  4. I like my natural arch in my brows.
  5. I love my sense of humor.

So far, I have two days down totaling twenty compliments. In the beginning, I was thinking there is no way I can conjure up that many compliments but it isn’t so bad.

Well this is the first section of the challenge, the next part comes tomorrow. I’m excited and looking forward to all the exercises that is to come. I pray you all are ready for the journey as well.

Day 1: The First 10 Compliments

“I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.” -Psalm 139:14

To dig a bit deeper into the first verse, Proverbs 31:10, I have attached the link to the sight that my sister pointed out to me. This will break it down so hard, it will give you pause. Proverbs 31:10

In reading this extremely long summary of verse 10, I figured out I’m not so bad after all. LOL… This is the line that stuck out to me. She must fear the LORD (Pr 31:30). She must be gracious (Pr 11:16; 30:21-23). She must be very hardworking (Pr 14:1; 31:13-29). 🙂

 

Hopefully this wasn’t too much but I sure hope I gave enough. Comment, like, share, and invite…

Much Love,

Kanika

 

Leave a Reply

