Proverbs 31 Project

Proverbs 31 Project (day 3)

Are you all feeling the heat as I am? We are now in day three of this basic 30 day challenge of 10 a days. Today will mark 30 days worth of compliments, what do you know about that?

This is the hardest task I have ever signed up for. Writing fiction books has nothing on this assignment. As I said before, my self esteem has suffered for years and now I am forced to dig down inside myself. Of course this exercise can only help in the long run but the initial work is making me sweat a little.

The last two days we have touched the beginning of the breakdown of how we can relate to the description of a virtuous woman. Where I once thought I saw flaws, I realized I actually like or love more things about myself than I knew. The flaws aren’t so bad after all, actually they make me unique in my own little way. 🙂

Day 3: 30 Compliments=A month’s worth!

Now we should have started our ‘HUSBAND BOX’. In digging into the second portion of the scripture from yesterday, I wanted to get a deeper understanding so I referred to the text on http://www.letgodbetrue.com/proverbs/commentaries/31_11.php. It breaks down the chapter and verses, line by line.

When it boils down to it, a husband is to entrust his heart with his chosen wife and he should choose wisely a woman who delights in giving her loyalty to her husband.

Her loyalty is simply remaining diligent, domestic, distinguished, and faithful.

This is where I kept getting caught up the first time I ventured into Proverbs, domestic. So many women have complained about the word when it is referenced to how a woman is supposed to act. A lot of men and women misinterpret the meaning behind submissive and domestic.

In the way some describe it, a woman is to be seen and not heard. A woman is to take care of the house, barefoot and pregnant, nothing more nothing less. The womens movement of the 70s really riled folks up and made a lot of folks question their roles. And I use the word ‘roles’ loosely because women are often sensitive about that word as well.

Sadly the words ‘roles’, ‘domestic,’ ‘obey’, and ‘submissive’ are put into context to make a person feel less than the another. The word is said in a sense to put the supposed weaker sex behind the otherwise dominant sex.

The bible points out that a man is to be the head of the household but when you dig a bit and fully open your hearts to the word, they aren’t saying it in a demeaning way. A virtuous woman is still expected to assist with keeping the economic flow of the household, add a clean and tidy appearance to their home, nurture the children, and meet the other needs of her husband.

That is what most women do anyway. Women like their houses cleaned a certain way, I hate the way every body in this house cleans my bathroom and wash clothes so I do it myself. We nurture our children because men can’t breastfeed, in the biblical days they didn’t have formula. (Just being honest, men don’t have boobs) And the last point, we would flip a mack truck if he ventured out to get his rocks off with another. Even as women we have needs that need to be met in the frisky department, why not unleash all that pent up freakiness for him instead of complaining about being tired.

The time it takes to complain and argue, the dirty deed could be done and every body could be resting peacefully, TOGETHER.

According to the text on Let God Be True, the virtuous woman can be trusted personally, sexually, domestically, economically, socially, and spiritually.

 

A husband risks his heart with a wife. She can break his heart by giving her body or love to another (Num 5:11-31; Matt 1:18-19). She can defraud him of adoration or sexual fulfillment (Esth 1:12; I Cor 7:1-5; Eph 5:33). She can break his heart by being lazy and allowing the family or house to suffer (Pr 14:1; Ezek 16:49; I Tim 5:14). She can be odious, contentious, and shameful in private or in public (Pr 12:4; 27:15-16; 30:21-23).

 

Scripture for the day:

“Do not let your adorning be external–the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear–but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.” 1 Peter 3:3-4

That is all for me today ladies, I pray you all got something as I have received my lesson for today.

Let me know how I’m doing and please feel free to chime in with your comments, thoughts, concerns, and suggestions.

Love ya,

Kanika

One thought on “Proverbs 31 Project (day 3)

Leave a Reply

